death you are a poem…

I don’t know why I get distraught by the news of deaths. It doesn’t matter if I knew those dying personally or they were related to me, or the fact that I have never even met them. Every time I hear about their exit to the outer worlds, I get depressed. This depression has nothing to do with my ‘fear of death’ as much as the way I feel connected to the mourners. I don’t know why! Be it an acquaintance that died of cancer leaving a 10 year son behind or the new Union Minister of the country dying in a car accident. I feel deep pain and sadness for unknown yet obvious reasons. Even today, as I go through this motley of sadness that surrounds death, I would like to present the complete poem.

It is written by my most favorite Indian, Writer, Poet, Filmmaker, Gulzar. I first came across this in the famous Hindi Movie – Anand. The second time I heard it when The Guy was mumbling it a few days back. It’s the words like this that give you real solace, when your heart seeks peace and the mind gets cloudy. They might not give you all the hope, but they surely enlighten your views about life and death. As I leave you with this poem, I hope that my next post will be far more cheerful and inspiring and far more positive than the recent ones! Along with the original script, I am also providing its translation for easy understanding.

Poem:

मौत तू एक कविता है,
मुझसे एक कविता का वादा है मिलेगी मुझको

डूबती नब्ज़ों में जब दर्द को नींद आने लगे
ज़र्द सा चेहरा लिये जब चांद उफक तक पहुचे
दिन अभी पानी में हो, रात किनारे के करीब
ना अंधेरा ना उजाला हो, ना अभी रात ना दिन

जिस्म जब ख़त्म हो और रूह को जब साँस आऐ
मुझसे एक कविता का वादा है मिलेगी मुझको

 

Translation:

Death you are a poem…
A poem has made me a promise she shall meet me…

When drowning pulse will make the pain to feel sleepy
When the Moon, carrying her golden face will reach the horizon
When days will still be in the water and night close to the shores
There won’t yet be the darkness, neither light, nor night, or day

When the body will be gone and soul will get enlightened
A poem has made me a promise she shall meet me…

Leave a Reply

